Chile From Within

News

Posted in chile by tomasdinges on September 29, 2008

With this post I find the need to declare an official pause in activity with this site. I can no longer report, genuinely, from “within.” I was in New York, where I earned a degree at Columbia Journalism School, am now in Washington D.C. working with TakingBackPolitics for now and other local outlets, until a job along the U.S. Mexico border.

I would hope that newcomers would browse the archives. Chile is not an easy country to understand or feel comfortable in, says I. But with patience it will shine for you.

What is news, say you? Aside from the metro station strip-dancer/exhibitionist, 16-year-old no-sex, but lots-of-kissing orgies, the popularity of the Palin Syrah a propos of S. Palin, and a book by Heraldo Muñoz, and two media developments, I’ve got nothing.

Lefty rag The Clinic has got a revamped website, finally. El Mercurio, right-wing standard bearers continues to have a horrible, slow website like La Tercera. BUT, La Tercera and its master has finally relented and granted the Copesa-funded kick-ass investigative journalism operation CIPER Chile a large link on their website, low and on the right-hand side.

May you weather the storms of frustration and passion.

…and visit Parque Andino Juncal for release.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stefanie said, on October 1, 2008 at 2:51 am

    Oh, Fomas–forget to disclose something in your glowing review of (admittedly kick-ass) CIPER?

  2. Tomas said, on October 1, 2008 at 3:08 am

    Uh. yeah. I thought I had previously exposed my own blood relation to the Chilean investigative web site. My Dad, John Dinges is a co-founder.

  3. Randy Paul said, on October 13, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Don’t completely give up, Tomas. Next time you’re in NYC, contact me. We’ll have pisco sours at Pomaire.


Leave a comment